An Amateur at Heart

Posted: May 1, 2011 in Photography

If there's a will.... Hello all, My Name is Nakean Wickliff and I’m a proud father and Seattle Strobist photographer.  As of this moment I have 4 speedlites (2 canon 430exII’s and 2 Nikon sb-28’s)  I will be writing about my transition from amateur to professional photographer as I take the plunge in world of service photography.  I’ll attempt to tell you all what has worked for me and what hasn’t.  I hope to help create a few shortcuts for you all as I know I’ve avoided several pitfalls by reading countless other blogs and articles.  I don’t claim to know it all or have all the answers but I will do my best to provide links to those that do as well as give my personal insight as everyone’s experience is just a little different.  I’d like to define the word amateur first.  The word amateur stems from an Old French word meaning, “lover of”.  It generally means he or she has no formal training.  None of these things are negative in my mind.  I come with an open mind ready to learn every step of the way.  I love what I do and it shows in my work.  Further more it is someone who generally considered a person attached to a particular pursuit, study, or science, without pay.  Olympic Athletes used to all be amateurs as well.  They were disqualified if found to have been paid for competing in their sport.  In this regard, there is nothing wrong with being an amateur.  With this said I believe I am in a bit of a transition as I always bring my camera everywhere yet am being paid for services such as weddings, and portraits.  I will always be an amateur at heart and this will help me to succeed in an ever changing competitive field of photography.

Comments
  1. Nakean says:

    Feel free to post any comments or ask questions. If you have any questions related to websites, specifically iweb, I will be happy to answer those to the best of my ability as well.

Leave a Reply

