Rene Smoothed BackgroundI recently read an awesome blog post done with a beauty dish, a giant soft box for fill, and a ring light. This was some edgy lighting used to light corporate men and women no less! To me that’s just awe-inspiring! I pretty much stick to the classic Rembrandt lighting technique when shooting such people. Maybe add an “edgy” hair light or rim. None the less, this got the juices flowing for me and encouraged me to try something different. Here is my first attempt at butterfly lighting. Not bad if I do say so myself. Now the next step is to get a boom stand so that I can get the pesky light stand out of the way and back up a bit. I was about 1 foot from Rene with the lens nudged up against the light stand to keep the stand from view.

 

Rene Bibaud ButterflyUnfortunately I have just 4 speedlites and I wasn’t willing to waste any on lighting my background, hence the wrinkled background in the photo to the left. Now that I think about it I probably could have backed her up and feathered a good amount on her and let the rest light the background for that nice high key shot. Maybe next time! Instead I used a little Photoshop post work to get the nice smooth background that you see in the first image.  Even added a little circular gradient behind her head for a little extra depth.  Next time I’m feathering and using a boom stand! If only I had a boom!

Leave a Reply

